Tags

, , , , , ,

I was at Tunbridge Wells’ Nevill Ground today watching Kent dismiss Sussex cheaply. During the morning session,  I was sat parallel to the pitch and found myself drawn to watching Daniel Bell-Drummond who was fielding around cover/cover point for James Harris. Sussex weren’t really getting any joy from Harris at this stage, so I was watching the routine Bell-Drummond went through every delivery. That sense of routine was something that dominated the day’s play for me.

He does not clap
He does not shout
He does not holler to the bowler

Two steps forward
A hurried crouch
For every ball of every over.

He does not move
He does not dive
But when he has to do

He springs, he pounces
Gets down quick
Stops one becoming two.

He is pushed back to the rope
For just one ball
The spell is broken.

