Tags

, , ,

This just happened to on so I figured I’d give it a look, thinking that at 0-1, Monaco might have to do something to get back on terms.

So, what happened? I settled into this hoping that it would offer a little something as a local derby and with Monaco needing to get themselves back on track after having been utterly woeful every time I’d seen them to date.

However, even through the filter of Layvan Kurzawa, who had given a lovely interview in France Football during the week, the side from the principality barely threatened anything against a Nice side who were, themselves, pretty average.

It was exactly the kind of game that people use to typify Ligue 1; all the build-up play was slow and deliberate there was little pressure from either team and the game – especially for a derby (these two cities are about twenty minutes apart) was flat throughout. I stuck with it for about an hour, but eventually I lost any enthusiasm I had for it.

Have to say, as bad as Monaco were, Nice looked just as poor, though I guess they can explain their reluctance to attack by pointing to the fact that they held a lead at a Champions League team and, obviously held on to it for 83 minutes.

Entertainment value? 2/10

