Tags

,

There’s not a lot (for me) to go on in terms of having seen many of the CAN teams play yet – I caught a bit of Egypt – Ivory Coast the other day, but haven’t seen South Africa for a while, and certainly haven’t seen Cape Verde. As such, I’ll probably play it cautious and work with what information I can use. South Africa’s home games since 2010 have followed a pretty predictable pattern. They tend not to contain a lot of goals, just under 2 (1.93) and, as such, if Bafana Bafana concede win, they tend to have kept a clean sheet – of 15 victories in 28 games, only 3 have seen the opposition score – there’s some decent opposition included in that, too; Ghana and Denmark probably the pick. Meanwhile, Cape Verde, who knocked out Cameroon in one of the surprises of qualifying, are a little bit erratic. There’s some impressive results in their locker; those games against Cameroon (particularly the home leg) and a 0-0 with Portugal. They have, though, failed to score in 7 of their last 18 games including the last two. The decision here for me is whether Cape Verde score. South Africa, I think, will win which means, really, I’m working with either 2-1 or 2-0. I’d <i>like</i> to see the Blue Sharks score, but – Ryan Mendes or no, I find it difficult to see. Which leaves me at 2-0. The scorer, given the scarcity of South African goals lately, is a little more up in the air. I like Mphela, but he’s been out injured recently – 2 goals in 287 minutes in the ABSA Prem (1 goal every 143.5 minutes) but I think, despite only coming in at 1 per 137.3 minutes in the league, I’m going to take Bernard Parker; he’s scored 9 times this season, so its fair to assume he’s slightly sharper than his partner. So then.
 
South Africa’s Home Results Since 2010 (South Africa goals at top)
13-01-18a
 
South Africa to win 2-0 @ 5/1
Bernard Parker FGS @ 5/1
Scorecast @ 18/1
Only South Africa to score @6/5
